How to remove previously synced google account from android

Left image
2021-06-22
Abraham Miller

One of the first things you have to do when you get a new android device is to set it up using a Gmail account as your primary account on the device. Practically everything you carry out on the new phone is tied to this account, your saved passwords, search history, browsing data, play store purchases, online shopping, and every other thing. At this point, the phone is both a safe and a mobile bank for you, and has more personal data than you might have ever given to anyone before.  If you have a need to reset the phone or change the account, you could find yourself in a fix trying to figure out how to remove previously synced google account from android

 how to remove previously synced google account

Delete the google account from your device

The first and easiest step to get this done is to simply remove the google account from your device. Remember that it has been set as your primary account? Now, you simply need to remove it from being the primary account. This way, the google account will no longer be linked with or synced with your Android phone. Here is how to do it.

  • Go to Settings> navigate to Accounts > This will give you a list of all the accounts synced you’re your device across the various social media. If you have more than one Google account registered on your device, it will give you a list of all the Gmail accounts.
  • Tap on the google account you want to remove > Tap Remove Account > Confirm by tapping Remove Account

This will completely remove the google account from your device.

Clear data cache and storage

For some devices, another method that works is to clear the data and all information stored on the synced Google account.

  • Go to Settings> select Apps & notifications > Tap on See All Apps > this will give you a list of all your installed apps on your device
  • Navigate to Gmail app on the list > tap on Storage & cache > Tap on Clear Cache > when done with this, tap on Clear Storage. This will clear all the data related to the google account synced on your device.
  • Now launch the Gmail app and set it up with the Google account of your choice.

Turn off sync but keep Gmail account

This is what you should do if you want to keep previously saved messages and data, but you don’t want new messages to come into your device. Simply turn off the sync feature for the google account and this will get fixed.

  • Open the settings app > Navigate to Accounts and tap on it > The list of all accounts synced on the device will appear, select the account you want to unsync and tap on it.
  • Tap on Sync Account, and it will show you a dropdown of all the google features synced on the account. Scroll downwards to Gmail and toggle it off.

Once you have done this, you will still have the old messages saved on your device, but will not receive new ones. You will also be able to access your contacts and other date saved to the google account.

Use Find My Device to remove Gmail account

Did your phone get stolen or missing? You might be at a loss on how to remove a google account that was previously synced on this device, now that the device is outside your control. The way to go is to delete the synced device from your Google account. This works if you have done a factory reset on your device and you encounter an error message while trying to set the phone up.

This step is also very helpful if you have lost your android device and you want to remove your previously synced google account from android as a way to protect all of your sensitive data. You can use this to find the device (if you are still within the area it got missing), to erase all data connected to the google account on the device and to do a lot more. You can do this from a desktop device, from another android phone or any internet-enabled device around you.

  • Open your browser and go to Google.com/find
  • Sign in to your Gmail account (you may not need to do this if you have used the device to sign into your account before).  
  • It will give you a list of devices linked with that google account. Chose the device and select “Erase” to remove it.

Add a new account and delete the previously synced account

Note: If after trying all the steps above, you are still unable to remove the previously synced google account from android, then open your Gmail app and add another Gmail account. You don’t have to open a new Gmail account if you have another account you can use.

  • Launch your GmailApp > Tap the circle at the top right of your android phone. If you have a profile picture, you will find your picture in this space.
  • This will give you a list of all Gmail accounts registered with the device. If you only have one account, you have to tap Add Account and follow the prompts.

Once this is done, you can set the new account as a primary account and remove the previously synced Google account by deleting it.